4 captains of international teams who resigned in 2021

2021 has been a fantastic year for cricket and cricket fans. The crowd returned full time to the stadiums and fans watched the first ICC T20 World Cup since 2016. In addition, there was the inaugural final of the ICC World Test Championship which took place earlier this year. Furthermore, the 2021 IPL season took place in two phases and the Chennai Super Kings emerged as the champions.

Many things caught the attention of cricket fans in 2021, and another thing that caught the eye was the captains of international teams who stepped down as captains. So far in 2021, there have been four captains of international teams who have left the role of captain. Here are those four names.

1. Virat Kohli, T20I

Starry Indian batter Virat Kohli made a big announcement ahead of the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup. Right hitter said he would step down as Indian T20I captain after the mega-event. Explaining the reason for his decision, Kohli wrote in a social media post:

“Understanding the workload is a very important thing and considering my immense workload over the past 8-9 years playing in all 3 formats and captaining regularly for the past 5-6 years, I feel I need to give myself space to be fully prepared to lead the Indian Team in Test and ODI Cricket. “

2. Tim Paine, Proof

Australian wicket-keeper batsman Tim Paine announced he would step down as captain of the country’s test team ahead of the Ashes series against England. He had to make this decision after a great off-screen controversy.

3. Quinton de Kock, Test

Earlier this year, Dean Elgar replaced Quinton de Kock as captain of the South African test team. Coach Mark Boucher has confirmed that de Kock will step down as test captain following the streak against Pakistan to release the burden. Soon after, Elgar took over the reins of the team. Meanwhile, Temba Bavuma became the captain of South Africa in the other two formats.

4. Rashid Khan, T20I

Afghan leg spinner Rashid Khan stepped down as his country’s T20I captain shortly after the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) announced the T20 World Cup squad. The reason for Rashid’s decision is that the selectors did not take his consent before announcing the team.

Leave a Comment